I’m back…again…hopefully

Don’t lecture me on how long I’ve been gone, I know. I get it, and I am sorry. I truly am. Unfortunate as it is, you the reader were pushed to the side in favor of me doing homework and attempting to have some small attempt at a social life. It was a good semester, and this one I will be just as busy. Evidently staying idle is not in my blood. I am enrolled in 19 credit hours and I am working approximately 20 hours a week, plus whatever homework I am doing.

I am going to try a different strategy. Instead of doing a long blog post that has loads of pictures and details I am going to try and give smaller updates. I figure it would be better to tell you what is happening a little at a time as opposed to nothing. So this one will be a little longer than ones in the future, to set the stage. Hopefully I will be able to update you, but only time will tell. Also I now have an Instagram page where I share photos a little more often if you want to find me there. Ca_in_Ks.

As I stated earlier I am enrolled in 19 credit hours and working a fluctuating schedule generally at 20 or more hours. The reoccurring theme is time management. Moving onward though. My class load 2nd semester is consisting  of American Literature II, Automotive Paint Restoration, Chassis Restoration, Managerial Accounting, Photography II and Sophomore Seminar. This myriad of classes will definitely keep me busy. I’m going to highlight a few of my classes that I will probably be talking about in the future, particularly Paint, Chassis and Photography.

In Chassis Restoration we will be going over the components on the chassis of the automobile, steering, brakes, suspension and so on. Currently we have done drum brakes and a little bit of introduction into braking systems in general. The biggest part of this class seems to be that we have broken up into three groups to work on three different automobiles. There is a Model A , a late twenties Model T, and a 1954 Plymouth Belvedere, which is what I am working on. The goal is to turn them into complete and functioning chassis. From what I have deduced the Belvedere is a car that was donated about 7 years ago. The person who originally wanted the car restored, poured a lot of money, (around 80,000 I believe) into her. The shop that was working on the car apparently bought a couple of parts cars to help with the restoration and “claimed” to have done some work, though it appears that they didn’t do too much. Another story of shop fraud…a terrible thing and far to often occurring. So that’s how we ended up with the car. It is actually a decently rare Plymouth, in the fact that it has Hy-Drive. What is Hy-Drive? I’m glad you asked. It is essentially a Fluid Drive, but further refined with a torque converter. It’s really interesting, but I won’t go into detail, because I don’t want to bore anyone that is just smiling and nodding at this point. If you want to read more into it you can read a good article on Allpar .

DSC_0112

One of my more interesting classes this semester is Paint Restoration. I joined the class a week late, because I didn’t realize that I had a more open schedule than I originally thought. Each person has their own project right in the class that they are responsible for. Everyone is in the sanding process right now. Most people are working on a 74 Super Beetle, such as , doors, deck-lid and such. From what I have hear, the story behind the bug is that the German Car Club of Kansas was restoring it to raffle off. It apparently wasn’t being worked on by the club, so somehow we made a connection  and agreed to work on it. I also believe that the auto program will get some if not all of the proceeds from the raffle. Some of the other projects that students are working on is the Mustang fastback, which needs a little bit of everything as well as some fenders for the Stutz Blackhawk. I am working on sanding a motorcycle fender. It was partially painted already, but they ran out of paint, as well as a few other details, so we need to start over. Note to everyone make sure you have enough paint before you start a project. I don’t know a hoot about painting, so this should be a good course.

DSC_0122

Finally I am going to talk about my Photography II class. I am really looking forward to this class, because I enjoyed Photography I so much. You have probably seen several examples of my work if you are here. I am also the owner of a fancy Nikon D40 now, that I was given for Christmas, instead of the point and shoot that I have been using since forever. I learned so much in Photography I that honed my skills, primarily using film, that I am looking forward to making my digital pictures better as well. I have already learned how to manually control most of the features on my camera, which I never did before, so I can only get better.

DSC_0058

As the semester progresses I’ll try and post a little on how the classes are going as well as anything exciting that happens around here. Thanks for your patience, and I am glad your still here!

About mecklin21

I'm a Southern California kid who ended up in the middle of McPherson Kansas pursuing a degree in Automotive Restoration at McPherson College. I own a 1940 Plymouth Pickup, which I am restoring, and enjoy adventures, writing, & photography.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

