Concours d’90210

So after my late night at the AXC dinner I had to be at the Peterson Automotive Museum by 5:00 in the morning. This meant me waking up at 3:30 and leaving by 4 to get there on time. On the bright side, there was nobody on the freeway. A rare occasion here in sunny SoCal.

Why did I need to be at the Peterson at 5? What was I doing? Frankly, I didn’t even know at the time. A friend of mine from the college, Lance Butler, had approached me on the final day of school, asking if I would be available to work for the Peterson. We had our Survey of Economics Final that day and I am glad we did. My answer… Well…yeah. So we had been communicating back & forth since then about when to work, though the details of what I was going to be doing, however, never got mentioned. As far as I was concerned I was just happy to do something involved with the Peterson.

Sunday morning on Fathers Day  here I was at the Peterson meeting with three other people getting the details of what was going to happen. That day was the Rodeo Concours in Beverly Hills, & we were going to be helping guide people in parking their entry vehicles as well as making sure everything was running smoothly. Oh,  and keep people from climbing all over the cars, even though we had barriers in place.

WP_20140615_001I’m not going to lie. This was only the second time I have been to Beverly Hills. Yes I was born and raised here in L.A. County, but I’m not much into the ritzy highfalutin’ living that happens on the west side. I didn’t know that Rodeo Drive was pronounced more like Rho-day-o Drive. I was thinking it was Rodeo, as in cowboys and such. Shows how much I know , and I know, I live in California. Meaning I should have pulled up in the Beverly Hillbillies REO, which I had to help put up the road, because of course it was at the top and didn’t run. Anyways…

DSCN0183

The 1956 Fiat golfcart.

I met Benjamin, Paul, & Lance that morning, whom were my coworkers for the day. Paul & Lance grabbed two client cars, which they were going to take out to the show. Lance got the 1967 Shelby Mustang GT 350 and Paul got a 1956 Fiat…thing. It kind of reminds me of a cart you would see at an airport, with all of your cargo in the back, but this had seats for people. Anywho, it was nifty and only two were made. We headed on over to the Rodeo Drive and arrived where the event was still being set up.

After having the Mustang & Fiat parked we received lists of the cars coming in and a map of where to park them. After that it was merely waiting for cars to show up and place them in their respective positions. From there we just parked cars until 11 o’clock, though the show started at 10. It’s Beverly Hills, everyone is fashionably late.

I was in the 50’s & Trophy car section, and helped park a 1958 Cadillac Brougham. From there I met and camped out with the couple that owned it, because I was stuck in that section. Luckily for me they were the nicest people you would ever want to meet.

DSCN0080 DSCN0101

DSCN0225Eventually I had to patrol the car show and be a presence. I also had to guard Mr. White’s, (a client), 1937 Cord Phaeton that was owned by Tom Mix. The car also won best historical car at the show. This is also supposedly the car he was killed in. After 2 ½ hours of guarding this masterpiece from the general public I walked around and snuck a few photos, because I wasn’t supposed to be doing that on the job.

The show ended at 4, which meant everybody was scattering. I still had to the guard the Cord, because that is when the stations came down meaning even more people DSCN0231wanted to get close to it. After all of that we packed up and ended over to Bruce Meyer’s collection for about ½ an hour then drove to the Peterson to put back the cars.  On the way back I got to ride in the Cord, which was the icing on the cake. Aw heck, who am I kidding, it was the icing and the cake!

 

 

About mecklin21

I'm a Southern California kid who ended up in the middle of McPherson Kansas pursuing a degree in Automotive Restoration at McPherson College. I own a 1940 Plymouth Pickup, which I am restoring, and enjoy adventures, writing, & photography.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

