AXC Graduation

May 28,2014,  students from the Alex Xydias Center of the Automotive Arts graduated from their two year program of Autoshop courses after school. Why might this be important? Who are these people? Some of you might not know, but I was part of that program last year(2013) and was there for one year(2 semesters). The program is at the Pomona Fairplex. Since the disappearance of Autoshop in California high schools Pomona Fairplex and the CTEC sector, with the help of generous donors, have come to offer a two year program for those whom are serious in entering the automotive world. The program is free to the students, but one must apply and interview to get in.

My last day of the AXC program. All of us standing in front of our 1959 Edsel, the class project.

My last day of the AXC program. All of us standing in front of our 1959 Edsel, the class project.

I enrolled in the program after hearing about it from John Blickenstaff, who is a member of the Baldy View Ford V-8 club as well as a former mayor of LaVerne for 27 years. I was with the class that graduated the 28th but left after the second semester to pursue a 4 year degree at McPherson College. I took the Automotive 101(Basics) and the Auto 102 (Brakes & Systems).  Through the program I developed friendships and learned several skills. I also feel that by attending the program, it helped me get into McPherson.

The reason why I hauled back so fast from school, (I left Friday I was home by Saturday afternoon), was to attend this graduation. I wanted to see my friends get their certificates, say hello, catch up and show my appreciation for letting me a part of this truly awsome program.

If you are in the area and would like to apply or know some one that would( high school students)  check them out. Or if you would like to donate parts, vehicles, tools or much needed funds it truly is a worthy donation.

http://www.fairplex.com/fp/ctec/automotive.asp

If anyone from CTEC is reading this, thank you for your support and allowing me to be a part of this wonderful program, may it continue to grow.

image

About mecklin21

I'm a Southern California kid who ended up in the middle of McPherson Kansas pursuing a degree in Automotive Restoration at McPherson College. I own a 1940 Plymouth Pickup, which I am restoring, and enjoy adventures, writing, & photography.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

