15th Annual Cars Car Show

Last Saturday(May 3rd) marked the 15th Annual C.A.R.S. club show, which is always the first weekend of May. We had the perfect setup and everything went extremely smooth. It was perfectly sunny and there was a large amount of participation from the club to get everything that needed to happen.10293795_10152338283506187_247231591754695633_o

 

WP_20140503_003I was assigned to parking detail, which was perfectly fine with me. I was able to get to see all the cars come in. I  finished up at 11 o’clock and was free to enjoy myself for the rest of the show. I have heard varying numbers of how many we’ve had, including student’s cars, ranging from 180-220 cars. For me to see such an impressive array of vehicles on the school grounds made me really appreciate and feel proud of my college. How many colleges have a full on car show on their campus? It has been said to have been a good up and coming show that can continue to grow if we can keep this up.

WP_20140503_047

Along with the good amount of cars and  variety,  we also had two teams this year to rebuild our model T. Both teams had only been practicing for a few weeks, assembling the T three or four times. President Schneider had a bet with each team if they assembled the T in under 15 minutes they could get a steak dinner. The first team assembled the T in 14:38 and the second in nine & a half. Both were very impressive. Last year’s team had assembled the old T in under nine minutes but they had been practicing for a few years.

I had a few favorites from the show, especially since there were two Desotos and an Imperial. My favorite of the three was a black and gold 56 Adventurer. It was restored in a shop about 20 miles east of the college and has been included in many magazines and shows.

InstagramCapture_e6071cad-2e04-40bb-bc45-868d0c8ae3bc_jpgWP_20140503_027

The student section was nice to see as well, from the nicer looking cars to the newly acquired projects. Any part of my Plymouth was not out there, because frankly it is just a frame right now. I hope that next year I right have something out there, maybe a driving frame.  All in all many were impressive and I will be looking forward to next year.

WP_20140503_010 WP_20140503_020

Also here is a video that the college made of the show.

 

About mecklin21

I'm a Southern California kid who ended up in the middle of McPherson Kansas pursuing a degree in Automotive Restoration at McPherson College. I own a 1940 Plymouth Pickup, which I am restoring, and enjoy adventures, writing, & photography.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

