Labor Day Weekend (and a few)

Last week and this week were pretty uneventful. The big part of last week was that I had my first REAL day in drive train rebuilding, and we took apart a train. What I mean by that, is that  we took apart a Dana 60 live axle. There were three groups of three, each tasked with disassembling something. One group had a Model A transmission, and the other groups had live axles. It is nice that we have jumped into the hands on pretty early in the semester; I was expecting us to take a little longer, though I am not complaining.  I have to say that I was hoping that I was going to be in the group with the transmission, but I’ll get to it eventually.

DSC08733 DSC08732  DSC08746

That same day, the CARS club had a “Cruise In”, meaning that everyone met up with their cars, or whatever they have, and had root beer floats while having a good time. I rode my bicycle there, because I did not have a car that was old or American, at least my bicycle was made in the good ol’ US of A. The parking lot was pretty full with muscle cars, modern cars, a model T, and even some tractors. After hanging around for about an hour we headed back to my dorm in Metzler Hall.  It sounds like these “Cruise- in’s” will be happening once a month, so I am excited to see more and more of the students projects finishing and showing up as the year progresses. Speaking of which, I am currently waiting to see when the cafeteria needs me, so that I can start saving some dough for my own project someday.

WP_20130829_005 WP_20130829_047 WP_20130829_058WP_20130829_019

On Saturday I went to watch our first football game I didn’t truly see most of it however. I was there selling brats with the Business Club, in order to fund raise for future events. It was fairly successful, the big downside though was that it happened to be the hottest day of the week. We had no shade, and the temperature was in the very high nineties. When we closed up shop though I was able to see the last quarter. It seemed pretty good, we went into over time and lost 37 to 31 against Bacone College in Oklahoma.

Hmmm, I guess more happened this week then I thought. The big one though was that I changed roommates…again, I guess third times the charm.  Anyway I am changing roommates mainly due to us having opposite sleeping schedules. He would get back between 12-3 a.m. and if you know me, I am lights out by 9:00p.m. and up when the roosters crow. I am pretty sure that my housing application was never even looked at, because we could not be more opposite. Luckily I made friends with someone who had a very similar roommate situation and now we are roommates. Now that everything is in full swing, school is  starting to initiate open shop again, meaning that students can bring their projects into the shop on Friday nights and Saturday. Hopefully I will be able to hang around and learn a thing or two from the students. Below you will see some pictures of my new room. Guess which side is mine. I was going to say sorry this had been delayed, but I was hoping that something else interesting would pop up, but after writing all this, I think I was delayed as I actually had lots of things going on.

WP_20130904_001WP_20130904_005

About mecklin21

I'm a Southern California kid who ended up in the middle of McPherson Kansas pursuing a degree in Automotive Restoration at McPherson College. I own a 1940 Plymouth Pickup, which I am restoring, and enjoy adventures, writing, & photography.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

